4 Tips For Memorizing Scripture

In a previous post that I’ve written, I discussed the importance of memorizing scripture. (check it out here.)

It’s helpful that we now know why we should memorize scripture. After all, if we don’t have the right heart about it, why bother doing it in the first place? If we truly don’t want to memorize scripture, or if we only want to memorize it to receive praise from others, that’s dishonoring to God. Before you begin memorizing scripture, spend time praying to God and asking for Him to give you a pure heart and solid motives.

In case you’re looking for somewhere to start, here are 4 tips for memorizing scripture.

1. The chalkboard method. I did this a lot when I was younger, and I still tend to do it. Write the verse you wish to memorize on a chalkboard (or whiteboard). Say the verse out loud, then erase a word. Say the verse out loud again, including the word you just erased, then erase another one. Keep doing this until the entire verse is gone. Then rewrite it and start over.

2. Write the first letter of every word of the verse in a place where you’ll constantly see it. I understand that this might not work for everyone, but it definitely works for me! I usually write it on my hand or wrist, but I’ll also seen people draw them on mirrors with dry erase markers. It really gets your mind thinking about the verse.

3. Translate the verse into a different language. This gets you really thinking about the meaning of a verse. I do this with ASL, and I’ve learned quite a few verses that way.

4. Start with one of these important verses: John 3:17, Romans 1:16, Ephesians 2:8-9, 2 Corinthians 5:17, Psalm 27:1, Hebrews 13:8, James 1:22, Galatians 2:20, Colossians 3:23, 1 John 1:9, Micah 6:8, Matthew 5:16, or Philippians 4:11 (one of my favorites!).

My prayer is that each one of you desires to be in God’s word, hungry to receive instruction and wisdom from Him. Never lose sight of the importance of hiding His word in your heart.

Have a lovely week!

-Brooklyn-

Leave a Reply

