Is Dating In High School Wrong?

As I’m sure you know, Valentine’s Day passed by us last week.

And, if you’re in the same boat as I am, you probably spent the day very single.

I, personally, don’t mind being single on Valentine’s Day. The funny thing is, I didn’t complain once about being single during the day, yet I still had an older person tell me that high school relationships were worthless. She said it was good that I didn’t have a valentine, because it’s a “waste of my time”.

I’ve noticed this sort of belief circling around the Christian community, and it’s the idea that dating in high school is wrong.

But I’m here to tell you that dating in high school isn’t a bad thing! Well.. not always.

See, I’m a firm believer that God can use a dating relationship of any age to glorify Him. I have seen quite a few teen couples have thriving, pure relationships centered around God.

But what I’ve seen more than anything is the flops. The flings. The relationships centered around sexual desire and mere physical attraction.

And I think that, as Christians, we can look at that and automatically get the idea that it’s the only thing that can come from teenage relationships.

But we are called to live up to a different standard. We don’t have to automatically do things the way other teenagers are doing them. We belong to Christ. We are called to honor Him in everything we do.

So do I think dating in high school is wrong? No. I mean, sure, it’s a lot easier to make mistakes.. AND it’s challenging to find someone that holds the same beliefs/standards as you. But there isn’t a verse in scripture that says “thou shalt not date in high school.”

However, there is a verse in Songs of Solomon that says “do not awaken love until the time is right.” Which means that we should not awaken or pursue love that hasn’t been given to us by God.

See, here’s the thing: God doesn’t say that we cant date in high school, but he DOES say not to awaken love until the time is right.

If the time isn’t right while you’re in high school, then.. the time isn’t right. Period.

Believe me, I know how frustrating it is. Especially when all of your friends seem to have a guy wrapped around their arm. But I think that patiently waiting for a lasting relationship is better than getting your heart broken in fleeting relationships.

My dear, waiting for God’s timing is best. It’s challenging. It’s annoying sometimes. But believe me, it’s so worth it.

Dating in high school isn’t wrong! But ignoring God’s will is. 🙂

-Brooklyn-

One thought on “Is Dating In High School Wrong?

Leave a Reply

