Tomorrow Isn’t Guaranteed

A year ago, I wrote this on my personal blog after my friend’s friend died suddenly. Today, I want to republish it after I got the news that a girl I hung out with a few times when I was young passed away unexpectedly. The post is kind of sloppy, but I don’t want to change it.

You really aren’t guaranteed tomorrow.

_____________________________________________________________________

Tomorrow might not exist.

That’s a little bit of a bold statement, but that’s what we need. The world sugar coats painful truths and bedazzles it so that it doesn’t spark a flame of urgency in our hearts. That’s not happening in this post. I’m going to take away the pretty packaging and write with honesty.

We’re dying. We each have a clock. Every second that passes is a second closer to death. Most people are getting closer to their deathbed than they realize.

James 4:13-17 says “(13)Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit- (14)yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. (15)Instead you ought to say, “if the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” (16)As it is, you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil. (17)So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.”

As Christians, we are getting too comfortable expecting tomorrow that we aren’t loving people today. Get over your comfort. Become uncomfortable!

If you die tonight, what are you going to be remembered for? Your successful career? Your fun personality? Being a “good person”? Maybe people will remember you for this at your memorial service. Maybe after a couple years people will reminisce on your jokes and love for football. But what lasting, eternal effect are you having on people today?

I think that some of us want to just do things normally. Go to school, have a good job, a good home, a good spouse- basically get a good everything, then have a good memorial service. But what’s beyond that?

I’ve been wondering recently about when I’m going to die. It could be tomorrow, or in 36 years. I truly don’t know, and that’s what’s hard. I suddenly start questioning whether or not I’m impacting Christ’s kingdom and glorifying him. Am I pointing others to Christ, or am I just existing?

My life is going to be gone soon, and I desire with all of my heart to show people Christ while I’m still here. Recognizing that I’m slowly but surely dying is a key step to changing my life into one that tells everyone about my Savior. I no longer feel the sinful desire to keep it in. I want to explode with love for everyone. I want to step out of my comfort zone and do crazy, radical things for the Gospel.

God gave us this life so that we could glorify Him and lead others to Him. Go out and tell the world about Christ. You don’t know how much longer you have in this life. Do not waste what’s left.

Leave a Reply

